biokrot.blogg.se

Diamond displaylink bvu195 driver
Diamond displaylink bvu195 driver













diamond displaylink bvu195 driver

As mentioned elsewhere, it can be a little sluggish if it's trying to display something that requires a lot of redraws or is otherwise graphically intense. I purchased an ASUS MB169B+ 15.6" HD USB monitor and it works pretty well.

So I've gone ahead and purchased a USB 3.0 HD DisplayLink Monitor, I'll add an update once I get it. This confirms that DisplayLink works well enough, even the old versions. I then just used arandr to activate and position the second monitor. Steps I took: I had already installed DisplayLink from the AUR to make sure it would software-side would be okay, so I just started the service (systemctl start displaylink) and ran the xrandr commands listed on the wiki for the USB 3.0 DisplayLink versions (even though it's USB2, but why not?): xrandr -listproviders # Confirm that a second device is listed

diamond displaylink bvu195 driver

It works well enough for programming and basic web browsing, which is all I really need (I quickly tested Netflix, but unsurprisingly, it lagged terribly) - still, this adapter appears to be one of the older ones and it doesn't even list Linux compatibility.

diamond displaylink bvu195 driver

To test compatability before purchasing a monitor, I borrowed a USB 2.0 to DVI adapter from work ( Diamond BVU195 Rev B). An example of a monitor I'm looking at is the ASUS MB MB169B+. The monitor would primarily support text editing and programming - I'm not concerned about low-latency or crazy quality for things like gaming or movies. I'm running a Lenovo x230, which has USB 3. Does anyone have experience or recommendations with these types of displays? Any help is greatly appreciated. There seems to be a lot of forum activity on the topic, but the latest posts seem to be from 2014, and I didn't spot any recommendations or any devices that "just work". Most of the products seem to use USB for both power and display which is convenient - but how well is this supported? It seems like USB display equates to 'DisplayLink', but the Arch wiki warns of only experimental support. I've begun looking into portable monitors to up my productivity while away from my desktop.















Diamond displaylink bvu195 driver